Skip Header

Federal Deposit
Insurance Corporation

Each depositor insured to at least $250,000 per insured bank

Home > About FDIC > Financial Reports > 2011 Annual Report

2011 Annual Report


The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) is an independent agency created by the Congress to maintain stability and public confidence in the nation’s financial system by:

  • insuring deposits,
  • examining and supervising financial institutions for safety and soundness and consumer protection, and
  • managing receiverships.


The FDIC is a recognized leader in promoting sound public policies, addressing risks in the nation’s financial system, and carrying out its insurance, supervisory, consumer protection, and receivership management responsibilities.


The FDIC and its employees have a tradition of distinguished public service. Six core values guide us in accomplishing our mission:

  1. Integrity
  2. We adhere to the highest ethical and professional standards.

  3. Competence
  4. We are a highly skilled, dedicated, and diverse workforce that is empowered to achieve outstanding results.

  5. Teamwork
  6. We communicate and collaborate effectively with one another and with other regulatory agencies.

  7. Effectiveness
  8. We respond quickly and successfully to risks in insured depository institutions and the financial system.

  9. Accountability
  10. We are accountable to each other and to our stakeholders to operate in a financially responsible and operationally effective manner.

  11. Fairness
  12. We respect individual viewpoints and treat one another and our stakeholders with impartiality, dignity, and trust.

Last Updated 06/12/2012

Skip Footer back to content