Skip Header
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Risk-Based Assessments Before 2007

The FDIC merged the Bank Insurance Fund (BIF) and the Savings Association Insurance Fund (SAIF) to form the Deposit Insurance Fund (DIF) on March 31, 2006 in accordance with the Federal Deposit Insurance Reform Act of 2005. FDIC maintains the DIF by assessing depository institutions an insurance premium. The amount each institution is assessed is based upon statutory factors that include the balance of insured deposits as well as the degree of risk the institution poses to the insurance fund.

FDIC assesses higher rates on those institutions that pose greater risks to the insurance fund. The overview explains how the FDIC determines deposit insurance premiums (assessments) based on risk categories.

Current Rate Schedule for FICO Rates
Current Financing Corporation (FICO) rate schedule for FDIC-insured institutions.

Assessment Rate Cases
Before 2007, assessment rate cases were semi-annual reports to the FDIC Board of Directors recommending the deposit insurance assessment rates for the DIF (or, prior to the fund merger, the BIF and the SAIF).

For 2007, the rule on risk-based assessments adopted in November 2006 sets rates effective January 1, 2007. Rates are no longer required by law to be set semiannually.

PDF help


Prior Assessment Periods