Skip to main content
U.S. flag
An official website of the United States government
Dot gov
The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.
The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.
Press Release
Agencies Release List of Distressed or Underserved Nonmetropolitan Middle-Income Geographies

For release at 1:30 p.m. EDT

Federal bank regulatory agencies today made available the 2023 list of distressed or underserved nonmetropolitan middle-income geographies.

The Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) encourages banks to help meet the credit needs of their local communities, including low- and moderate- income communities, in a safe and sound manner. Distressed or underserved nonmetropolitan middle-income geographies are census tracts where revitalization or stabilization activities are eligible to receive CRA consideration. The designations reflect local economic conditions, including unemployment, poverty, and population changes. Previous years’ lists and criteria for designating these areas are available here .

Revitalization or stabilization activities in these geographies are eligible to receive CRA consideration under the community development definition for 12 months after publication of the current list. As with past lists, the agencies apply a one-year lag period for geographies that were included in 2022 but are no longer designated as distressed or underserved in the current list.

Last Updated: June 23, 2023