FDIC Header Test Skip Header

Federal Deposit
Insurance Corporation

Each depositor insured to at least $250,000 per insured bank


The primary purposes of the Deposit Insurance Fund (DIF) are: (1) to insure the deposits and protect the depositors of insured banks and (2) to resolve failed banks. The DIF is funded mainly through quarterly assessments on insured banks, but also receives interest income on its securities. The DIF is reduced by loss provisions associated with failed banks and by FDIC operating expenses. Some links on this page are PDF files. For assistance with this format, see PDF Help.

The Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act of 2010 (the Dodd-Frank Act) revised the FDIC's fund management authority by setting requirements for the Designated Reserve Ratio (DRR) and redefining the assessment base, which is used to calculate banks' quarterly assessments. (The reserve ratio is the DIF balance divided by estimated insured deposits.) In response to these statutory revisions, the FDIC developed a comprehensive, long-term management plan for the DIF designed to reduce pro-cyclicality and achieve moderate, steady assessment rates throughout economic and credit cycles while also maintaining a positive fund balance even during a banking crisis. The FDIC Board adopted the existing assessment rate schedules and a 2.0 percent DRR pursuant to this plan. Calculation of the DRR, assessment rates, and current rate schedules are explained in more detail below.

Recent Updates

Tools for Bankers

Historical Information

Reserve Ratio

The Federal Deposit Insurance Act requires the FDIC's Board to set a target or DRR for the DIF annually. Since 2010, the Board has adopted a 2.0 percent DRR each year. An analysis using historical fund loss and simulated income data from 1950 to 2010 showed that the reserve ratio would have had to exceed 2.0 percent before the onset of the two crises that occurred during the past 30 years to have maintained both a positive fund balance and stable assessment rates throughout both crises. The FDIC views the 2.0 percent DRR as a long-term goal and the minimum level needed to withstand future crises of the magnitude of past crises.

Staff Paper - Deposit Insurance Funding: Assuring Confidence - PDF

[Read More]

Elevated levels of bank failures, especially in 2009 and 2010, resulted in a decline in the reserve ratio. The Dodd-Frank Act establishes a minimum DRR of 1.35 percent and requires that the FDIC return the reserve ratio to that level by September 30, 2020.1 In October 2010, under the comprehensive plan, the FDIC adopted a Restoration Plan to ensure that the reserve ratio reaches 1.35 percent by this deadline. Pursuant to the Restoration Plan, the FDIC’s Board adopted the current set of assessment rates, which are designed to ensure that the reserve ratio reaches the statutory minimum by the statutory deadline. Pursuant to the long-term fund management plan, the Board also adopted a lower set of assessment rates that will automatically become effective once the reserve ratio reaches 1.15 percent.2

Although the Dodd-Frank Act allows the FDIC’s Board to issue dividends from the DIF if the reserve ratio exceeds 1.5 percent, the Board has suspended dividends indefinitely under the comprehensive plan to increase the probability that the reserve ratio will reach a level sufficient to withstand a future crisis. In lieu of dividends, the Board adopted a set of progressively lower assessment rates when the reserve ratio exceeds 2.0 percent and 2.5 percent. These lower rates serve much the same function as dividends, but provide more stable and predictable effective assessment rates.

For more information:

1 After having reached 1.35 percent, if the reserve ratio falls below 1.35 percent, or if the FDIC projects that the reserve ratio will, within 6 months, fall below 1.35 percent, the FDIC must adopt a restoration plan that provides that the DIF will return to 1.35 percent within 8 years (or longer if the FDIC finds it necessary due to extraordinary circumstances).

2 The Act also requires that the FDIC offset the effect on banks with less than $10 billion in assets of increasing the reserve ratio from 1.15 percent to 1.35 percent. The FDIC will promulgate a rulemaking that implements this requirement at a later date to better take into account prevailing industry conditions at the time of the offset.


A bank's assessment is calculated by multiplying its assessment rate by its assessment base. A bank's assessment base and assessment rate are determined each quarter.

From the beginning of the FDIC until 2010, a bank's assessment base was about equal to its total domestic deposits. As required by the Dodd-Frank Act, however, the FDIC amended its regulations effective April 2011 to define a bank's assessment base as its average consolidated total assets minus its average tangible equity.
[Read More]

By statute, assessment rates must be risk based. The method for determining a bank's risked-based assessment rate differs for small banks and large banks, however. Small banks (generally, those with less than $10 billion in assets) are assigned to one of four risk categories (I through IV) based upon their capital levels and composite CAMELS ratings:

Supervisory Subgroups
Capital Groups A B C
Well Capitalized I II III
Adequately Capitalized II II III
Under Capitalized III III IV

Generally, Supervisory Group A comprises banks with CAMELS ratings of 1 or 2, Supervisory Group B comprises banks rated 3, and Supervisory Group C comprises banks rated 4 or 5. The assessment rate for each small bank in Risk Category I is determined individually based on a combination of financial ratios and CAMELS component ratings (the financial ratios method). All small banks in any of the other risk categories are charged a single rate that depends on the risk category. Special rules apply to new banks (those federally insured for less than five years).

Large banks (generally, those with $10 billion or more in assets) are assigned an individual rate based on a scorecard.3 (There are no risk categories for large banks.) The scorecard combines the following measures to produce a score that is converted to an assessment rate: CAMELS component ratings, financial measures used to measure a bank's ability to withstand asset-related and funding-related stress, and a measure of loss severity that estimates the relative magnitude of potential losses to the FDIC in the event of the bank's failure.

Assessment rates for both large and small banks are subject to adjustment. Assessment rates: (1) decrease for issuance of long-term unsecured debt, including senior unsecured debt and subordinated debt; (2) increase for holdings of long-term unsecured or subordinated debt issued by other insured banks (the Depository Institution Debt Adjustment or DIDA); and (3) for banks that are not well-rated or not well-capitalized, increase for significant holdings of brokered deposits.

Current assessment rates are set forth below.

Initial Assessment Rate 5 to 9 14 23 35 5 to 35
Unsecured Debt Adjustment (added) * -4.5 to 0 -5 to 0 -5 to 0 -5 to 0 -5 to 0
Brokered Deposit Adjustment (added) N/A 0 to 10 0 to 10 0 to 10 0 to 10
Total Assessment Rate ** 2.5 to 9 9 to 24 18 to 33 30 to 45 2.5 to 45

* The unsecured debt adjustment cannot exceed the lesser of 5 basis points or 50 percent of an insured depository bank's initial base assessment rate.
** Total assessment rates do not include the DIDA.

All rates are expressed as annual rates and are in basis points, which are cents per $100 of assessment base. An annual rate is converted to a quarterly rate by dividing the annual rate by 4.

For more information:

3 Technically, there are two scorecards, one for most large banks and one for a few highly complex banks. The scorecards are similar but not identical.

Skip Footer back to content