Skip Header
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Financial Institution Employee’s Guide to Deposit Insurance

Account Ownership Categories - PDF

Account Ownership Categories

This chapter provides a detailed discussion of the FDIC's deposit insurance coverage rules and requirements for each of the following ownership categories:

The order in which the 14 ownership categories are discussed in this Guide is based on the frequency of interest in each category by depositors and bankers contacting the FDIC.

In the deposit insurance examples provided in this Employee’s Guide, assume the account owners do not have any deposit accounts except those mentioned. Also, unless otherwise indicated, assume all owners and beneficiaries are alive.

PDF Help

Back to Top