Skip Header
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

2022-2026 Strategic Plan

The FDIC’s Major Programs

The FDIC has three major program areas or lines of business.
The agency’s strategic goals for each of these programs are presented in the diagram below.

Program Areas

Strategic Goals

FDIC-insured deposits are protected from loss without recourse to taxpayer funding. FDIC-insured institutions are safe and sound.
FDIC-supervised institutions comply with federal consumer protection laws, including fair lending laws, and the Community Reinvestment Act (CRA).
Receivership Management
Large, complex financial institutions are resolvable in an orderly manner.Resolutions are orderly and receiverships are managed effectively.