FDIC Header
Skip Header

Federal Deposit
Insurance Corporation

Each depositor insured to at least $250,000 per insured bank

2014 Joint Mutual Forum

Final Agenda

Printable - PDF

Wednesday Evening, July 23, 2014

5:30 to 7:00

Networking Reception
An informal networking opportunity for all forum attendees (mutual bankers, Federal Banking Agency representatives, speakers, etc.)

Thursday Morning, July 24, 2014


Check-in and Continental Breakfast


Opening Remarks
Donna M. Deale, OCC Deputy Comptroller, Thrift Supervision

Dialogue with the Comptroller of the Currency and Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
Thomas J. Curry, Comptroller of the Currency
Martin J. Gruenberg, Chairman, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
Moderator: Margaret Smith, President and CEO, First Federal Savings of Middletown, Middletown, NY


Economic Outlook and Industry Performance
Richard A. Brown, FDIC Chief Economist


Ombudsman Perspective
Larry L. Hattix, OCC Senior Deputy Comptroller, Enterprise Governance and Ombudsman
Cottrell L. Webster, FDIC Ombudsman




Cybersecurity Challenges
Valerie Abend, OCC Senior Critical Infrastructure Officer
William H. Henley, Jr. FDIC Associate Director, Technology Supervision Branch
Moderator: Alan Horner, CEO/Chairman, First Federal Savings Bank of Twin Falls, Twin Falls, ID
11:15 Impact of Generational Shifts on Customers and Branding
Paul Mackin, President & CEO, Think Mutual Bank Rochester, MN
Christopher Willard, Chief Compliance Officer, USAA Federal Savings Bank, San Antonio, TX
Moderator:  Bryan Hubbard, OCC Director, Public Affairs Operations

Thursday Afternoon, July 24, 2014


Lunch – Choose Breakout Session
Select a breakout session and have an informal box lunch and conversation with industry and agency subject matter experts.

Breakout A – Third Party Relationships
John Eckert, OCC Director, Operational Risk and Core Policy
Pete Martino, FDIC Field Supervisor, Division of Risk Management Supervision
Bert Otto, OCC Deputy Comptroller, Central District

Breakout B – Interest Rate Risk
Becca Berryman, FDIC Senior Capital Markets Specialist
Kerri Corn, OCC Director, Market Risk
Daniel Frye, FDIC Area Director

Philip Gerbick, OCC Senior Thrift Advisor, Central District

Breakout C – Mutual Holding Companies
Karen Caplan, FRB Manager, Savings and Loan Holding Companies
Kevin Corcoran, OCC Assistant Director, Bank Activities & Structure Division
Don Dwyer, OCC Thrift Licensing Lead Expert
Martin P. Thompson, FDIC Senior Examination Specialist, Division of Risk Management Supervision
C. Tate Wilson, FRB Senior Attorney


Compliance Panel
Grovetta N. Gardineer, OCC Deputy Comptroller, Compliance Policy
Jonathan Miller, FDIC Deputy Director, Division of Depositor and Consumer Protection
Frank Sarratori, Executive Vice President, Chief Administrative Officer and General Counsel, Pioneer Savings Bank, Troy, NY
Moderator: Jim Vaccaro, President/CEO, Manasquan Savings Bank, Manasquan, NJ


Supervision, Regulatory and Legislative Update
Jay P. Bienvenu, Senior Deputy Commissioner, Massachusetts Division of Banks
Doreen R. Eberley, FDIC Director, Division of Risk Management Supervision
Amy S. Friend, OCC Senior Deputy Comptroller and Chief Counsel
Jennifer C. Kelly, OCC Senior Deputy Comptroller, Midsize and Community Bank Supervision
Richard J. Osterman, Jr., FDIC Acting General Counsel
Moderator: Steve Swiontek, President & CEO, Gate City Bank, Fargo, ND

3:30 Closing Remarks
Thomas J. Curry, Comptroller of the Currency


Skip Footer back to content