Skip Header

Federal Deposit
Insurance Corporation

Each depositor insured to at least $250,000 per insured bank

Home > News & Events > Press Releases

Press Releases

PR-37-97 (5-30-97)
Media Contact:
Motty Bradshaw (202) 898-8680

The FDIC has issued the public list of its institutions (154kb PDF file - PDF Help or hard copy) to be examined under regulations implementing the Community Reinvestment Act (CRA). The list covers the third quarter of 1997.

In May 1995, the Federal bank and thrift regulators published revised CRA regulations that require each regulator to publish a quarterly CRA examination schedule at least 30 days before the beginning of each quarter, beginning January 1, 1996.

The regulators encourage public comment on the institutions to be examined under the CRA. Comments about FDIC-supervised institutions should be directed to the institutions themselves or to the Regional Director of the appropriate FDIC regional office (a list of those locations is attached). All public comments received prior to completion of a CRA examination will be considered.

The schedule of institutions to be examined July 1, 1997, through September 30, 1997, is based on the best information now available. Examination schedules may change. For example, unanticipated supervisory issues could arise that may necessitate examination of an institution that is not on the published list. Such issues may arise as the result of a CRA protest, a consumer complaint, or other significant events. Additionally, some institutions may require more time and resources than originally allotted, thus delaying completion of an examination and delaying other scheduled examinations. If an institution is rescheduled for a different quarter, that information will be included on a later list.

To receive today's quarterly list if not available as an attachment, or to be added to a mailing list for future press releases, call (703) 562-2200 or (800) 276-6003, fax a request to (703) 562-2296, or write:

FDIC Office of Corporate Communications Public Information Center 801 17th street, N.W., Room 100 Washington, D.C. 20434 (e-mail:

The quarterly list is also available on the Internet.

The Community Reinvestment Act is a 1977 law intended to encourage insured banks and thrifts to meet local credit needs, including those of low- and moderate-income neighborhoods, consistent with safe and sound operations.


Congress created the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation in 1933 to restore public confidence in the nation's banking system. The FDIC insures deposits at the nation's 11,452 banks and savings associations and it promotes the safety and soundness of these institutions by identifying, monitoring and addressing risks to which they are exposed.

FDIC press releases and other information, including today's quarterly listing, are available on the Internet via the World Wide Web at and may also be obtained through the FDIC's Public Information Center (800-276-6003 or (703) 562-2200).

Last Updated 07/14/1999

Skip Footer back to content