Acknowledgments

We are grateful for the leadership provided by Presidential Management Fellow Erica A. Lee, who served as program manager for this interdivisional study, outlined new research questions and methodology, and guided the study to completion. Each of the authors brought unique expertise to their sections. From the Division of Insurance and Research, the authors included: Eric C. Breitenstein, Financial Economist; Karyen Chu, Chief, Banking Research Section; Richard D. Cofer, Jr., Regional Manager; Jeffrey A. DeLuca, Senior Financial Analyst; and Shawn E. Schreier, Financial Analyst.

The authors would like to thank the many analysts from the Division of Insurance and Research and the Division of Depositor and Consumer Protection for their significant contributions to the analysis of minority depository institutions undertaken in the study. They include: Dustin Allison, Technical Data Analyst; Jeffrey A. Ayres, Senior Financial Analyst; Jade Brown, Economic Research Assistant: Nicholas P. Frazier, Financial Economist; Alexander S. Marshall, Senior Financial Analyst; Robert M. Miller, Senior Financial Economist; Christopher J. Raslavich, Economic Analyst; Matthew Reardon, Student Trainee; Kristopher Rengert, Senior Consumer Researcher; Dhruv Sharma, Senior Financial Analyst; Ryan T. Singer, Chief, Regulatory Analysis; Courtney L. Smith, Economic Assistant; Benjamin Tikvina, Economic Analyst; and Shelley M. Yeager, Financial Analyst.

We would also like to thank the editorial review team from the Division of Insurance and Research, the Division of Depositor and Consumer Protection, the Division of Risk Management Supervision, and the Legal Division that included: Martha Ellett, Counsel; George French, Deputy Director, Office of Chief Economist; Keith Ernst, Associate Director, Consumer Research and Examination Analytics; Sandra Kerr, Senior Program Specialist; Margaret M. Hanrahan, Chief, Financial Analysis Section; Jonathan Miller, Deputy Director for Policy and Research; Philip Shively, Associate Director, Risk Analysis; and Kathy Zeidler, Technical Writer/Editor.

Finally, special thanks to Sam Collicchio, Shahrzad Ghabaean, Nancy Cho, and Donna Vogel for the design and production of this publication and to Betty J. Rudolph, National Director for Minority and Community Development Banking, who served as executive sponsor.

Doreen R. Eberley, Director

Division of Risk Management Supervision

Diane Ellis, Director

Division of Insurance and Research

Mark Pearce, Director

Division of Depositor and Consumer Protection